Ben Kern

Ben Kern

Born: August 11th, 1946 in Rolandia, Parana, Brazil

Immigrated to Canada with his family as a young boy and began playing golf at age 15 at the Credit Valley Golf & Country Club.
Graduated from New Mexico State University (1966-1970)
Winner of 10 collegiate events
Became the first Canadian to garner First-Team All-American honours.
Two-time New Mexico Open Champion, 1968 (Amateur) and 1972 (Professional).
Member of two Ontario Willingdon Cup Teams including the victorious 1968 side.
In 1967, he represented Canada at the America's Cup Matches in Guadalajara, Mexico.
In 1974, he represented Canada at the World Cup in Caracas, Venezuela.
In 1965, he lost 1up in the final of the 1965 Ontario Amateur to fellow Hall of Famer Nick Weslock .
In 1968, he lost in a playoff with Bill Wakeham at the Ontario Open.
Earned his PGA Tour Card in 1969, placing 6th out of 450 competitors.
Spent seven years on the PGA Tour

His best finish on tour was a tie for fourth at the 1972 Texas Open.
Winner of the 1974 New Mexico PGA Championship.

Enjoyed a distinguished 20-year career at The National Golf Club of Canada.

In 1996, joined the Devil's Pulpit Golf Association as Director of Golf.

Has set seven (7) competitive course records

  • 61 - Skyline CC (Tuscon, AZ)
  • 62 - El Paso CC (El Paso, TX)
  • 64 - New Mexico State University GC (Las Cruces, NM)
  • 66 - Lake St. George GC (Orillia, ON)
  • 67 - Kings Forest GC (Hamilton, ON)
  • 67 - Credit Valley G&CC (Mississauga, ON)
  • 69 - Nobleton Lakes GC (Nobleton, ON)


  • New Mexico Open 1968, 1972
  • New Mexico PGA 1974.

International Career:

  • Represented Canada in 1967 America Cup matches and 1974 Canada Cup matches.
  • USPGA TOUR 1967 to 1974.


  • Co-authored the Future Links Golf Program
  • Chaired Canada’s first Coaching Symposium
  • Coordinated the PGA of Canada Teaching Certification Program
  • Served as the Director of Golf at the National Golf Club of Canada and Devil's Pulpit Club

 Hall of Fame Induction History:

  • Canadian Golf Hall of Fame 2010
  • Ontario Golf Hall of Fame 2004
  • PGA of Canada Hall of Fame 2014
  • PGA of Ontario Hall of Fame 2020

Source: PGA of Canada Hall of Fame / Golf Ontario Hall of Fame /Canadian Golf Hall of Fame